Last reviewed 01/2018

The clitoris is composed of three structures:

  • the glans
  • the body
  • the two crura which attach to the pubic bones

The glans is very sensitive. The covering of modified skin contains many nerve endings.

The crura are surrounded by the ischiocavernosus muscles, the contraction of which results in clitoral erection.