This site is intended for healthcare professionals

Go to /sign-in page

You can view 5 more pages before signing in

Classification of migraine

Last reviewed dd mmm yyyy. Last edited dd mmm yyyy

Authoring team

Migraine is very descriptively categorized in the ICHD-III classification as (1):

  • Migraine
    • Migraine without aura
    • Migraine with aura
      • Migraine with typical aura
        • Typical aura with headache
        • Typical aura without headache
      • Migraine with brainstem aura
      • Hemiplegic migraine
      • Familial hemiplegic migraine (FHM)
        • Familial hemiplegic migraine type 1 (FHM1)
        • Familial hemiplegic migraine type 2 (FHM2)
        • Familial hemiplegic migraine type 3 (FHM3)
        • Familial hemiplegic migraine, other loci
      • Sporadic hemiplegic migraine (SHM)
    • Retinal migraine
    • Chronic migraine
    • Complications of migraine
      • Status migrainosus
      • Persistent aura without infarction
      • Migrainous infarction
      • Migraine aura-triggered seizure
    • Probable migraine
      • Probable migraine without aura
      • Probable migraine with aura
    • Episodic syndromes that may be associated with migraine
      • Recurrent gastrointestinal disturbance
        • Cyclical vomiting syndrome
        • Abdominal migraine
      • Benign paroxysmal vertigo
      • Benign paroxysmal torticollis

The most common are common migraines (without aura) and classic migraines ( with aura) (2)


Create an account to add page annotations

Annotations allow you to add information to this page that would be handy to have on hand during a consultation. E.g. a website or number. This information will always show when you visit this page.