This site is intended for healthcare professionals

Go to /sign-in page

You can view 5 more pages before signing in

Types of ulcer

Last reviewed dd mmm yyyy. Last edited dd mmm yyyy

Authoring team

Ulcers can be divided into arbitrary groups on the basis of clinical presentation and aetiology:

  • peptic ulcer
  • ischaemic ulcers e.g. decubitus ulcers
  • gravitational ulcer
  • infective ulcers:
    • primary e.g. viral, tuberculosis, spirochaetal
    • secondary e.g. due to drainage of deep focus
  • traumatic ulcer including secondary stress ulcers
  • neuropathic ulcer e.g. in diabetes
  • malignant ulcers:
    • skin
    • gastrointestinal tract
  • ulcers secondary to systemic disease e.g. pyoderma gangrenosum, ulcerative colitis
  • ulcers secondary to dermatological disease
  • aphthous ulcers
  • iatrogenic ulcers:
    • wound breakdown post-operatively
    • irritant fluid extravasating
  • ulcers artefacta

Related pages

Create an account to add page annotations

Annotations allow you to add information to this page that would be handy to have on hand during a consultation. E.g. a website or number. This information will always show when you visit this page.